One-time AFL player, former Australian coach and comedian Michael O’Reilly, has been named the funnest in Australia’s professional football community.

O’Reilly was one of four AFL players to be inducted into the Football Hall of Fame in 2016, but this year he has been one of the most controversial.

He was sacked from the AFL in 2015 after a tumultuous relationship with the league, which included alleged racist and sexist comments.

He quit after only six games and was not named in the official induction list.


Reilly, who played in the AFL for 23 years, also lost his job in 2017.

The AFL has apologised for the incident and O’Brien has denied making racist and homophobic comments, which he says were made in jest.

The list of AFL players inducted includes five of the nine-time premiers.

Oriololo Gee and Ben Mathews are both in the Hall of Famer’s spot, but O’Kelly is the youngest, at just 23 years old.

The most entertaining is former West Coast star and current NRL club member Luke McDonald, who was recently released from a Queensland jail for a violent attack on a Brisbane woman in 2015.

McDonald is also the most famous, and is the only member of the current Queensland and New South Wales squads to have played in a World Cup final.

Older players have been more likely to get on the hall of fame than younger ones, but the Hall is not particularly prestigious.

The players are inducted with a list of honour, including three-time All Australian David Akers, and four-time club member Mark Hutchings.

There are currently six players in the hall, with two more inductees scheduled to be announced in 2018.

Olympic legend Usain Bolt, and former Brisbane star Luke Smith, are also on the list, but Bolt’s inclusion was criticised by some football fans who believed he was not a great athlete.

Other players in O’Leary’s list include current AFL player Shaun Burgoyne, and current AFL team member Josh Gibson, who has not played in an AFL game since 2010.